Forthcoming Concerts


Saturday 12 April 2014, 7.30 pm


Christ Church, Belper, DE56 1BA


The Derwent Singers in Concert


Vaughan Williams: Mass in G minor

Ildebrando Pizzetti: Messa di Requiem


These two seminal works were composed within months of each other in the early 1920’s, and both demonstrate how their composers’ style drew on music from a much earlier period. In his much-loved Mass-setting Vaughan Williams harks back to music of the Tudor period in a lavish double-choir format. Pizzetti’s Requiem is based very closely on Gregorian plainchant but brought up-to-date in a very Italianate manner, at times almost operatic – a rare opportunity to hear this profound and beautiful work..  




Free admission for children under 16 when accompanied by an adult.



Saturday 28 June 2014, 7.30 pm


St. Mary's Church Wirksworth, DE4 4DP




Sunday 29 June 2014, 6.30 pm


St. John the Baptist, Smalley, DE7 6DS



This Bountiful Earth


An evening of well- known choral pieces and some rarely heard items to celebrate the beauty of our World. The concert at Wirksworth will take place in the majestic setting of St. Mary’s and will include organ solos by Christopher Dixon. The concert in Smalley, in the pretty, ancient parish church of St. John, is featured as part of the church’s biennial Flower Festival. The church is open for viewing from 11am on Sunday June 29th.  



June 28, Wirksworth: £10

June 29, Smalley: £7